Nutrition Blog‎ > ‎

Vegetarian or Vegan?

posted Oct 6, 2017, 1:54 PM by Tracy Ducker, MS, RDN   [ updated Oct 31, 2017, 5:55 AM ]

October is Vegetarian Awareness Month and with more and more people choosing a vegetarian or vegan way of eating, it is worth discussing what each entails.

Many people group veganism under vegetarianism as a sub category. However it is different from vegetarian diets. Those following a vegan diet consume no animal meat, animal products or use anything tested on animals (makeup, skin care products) or anything make from an animal (leather clothes). Their diets consist of fruits, vegetables, legumes, and whole grains. Vegetarians on the other hand may consume anything ranging from dairy, eggs, fish and some meat. There are categories that describe each of these types of vegetarian diets. These are a few of the more common ones.

·         Lacto-ovo vegetarians – do not eat animals or animal by-products (any food that involves slaughtering the animal, like chicken broth) but do eat eggs and dairy foods.

·         Lacto vegetarians – Do not eat animals or any animal by-products, or eggs, but do consume dairy foods

·         Ovo vegetarians – Do not eat animals or any animal by-products, or dairy, but do consume eggs.

·         Flexitarians – Eat dairy, eggs and fish and poultry occasionally, but no beef or pork.

·         Pescatarians – Eat dairy, eggs and fish, but no poultry, beef or pork or any of these animal by-products

There are many options to choose from so why not give it go and try for Meatless Mondays. It is really up to you and these categories don’t mean you need to label yourself as one or another but decide what you are willing to eat and willing to cut out or cut back on. We have some great vegetarian and vegan recipes on our website that the whole family is sure to love.

For more information on vegetarian and vegan diets click here.